Make It Work!

If you read yesterday’s post, you already know what I’m wearing today.

I’m feeling meh about it.  The cardigan doesn’t really work for me alone–too much cleavage and a little gapey at the buttons.  The placket doesn’t have two layers like shirts do, so I can’t hide a safety pin.  (I realized that most people would not be concerned with the amount of cleavage shown, but after making many fashion mistakes causing much unwanted attention in my early 20s, I’m very conservative about the girls now.  Especially when traveling on business.)  I’d feel better with a necklace or a scarf, but of course I’d also feel better with a change of clothes.  😛

Here’s what I learned from this experience.

Good:

  • I packed some necessities, just in case.  Some basic makeup, makeup remover, soap, lotion, sunscreen, tooth paste.
  • I remembered to throw one of these 24/7 bags in my purse.  Best. Invention. Ever.
  • Work was able to direct bill my hotel room at the last minute (YAY!).
  • Wine and room service.

Bad:

  • I brought toothpaste but forgot a toothbrush.
  • I did not bring deodorant or a hair brush.
  • I did not bring any extra clothes.  At all.

Mitigating Factors:

  • Trip to Walgreens solved some of the issues (hair brush, new tights, deodorant).
  • I washed my unmentionables in the hotel sink, and they came out smelling fresh and clean.
  • I used my Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in Roman Holiday as blush and lipstick.  Multitasking for the win.
  • This touch up stick worked as a perfect concealer and eye-shadow base.

Lessons Learned:

  • Bring a small carry-on every time you go out of town.  Even if it’s only an hour flight and it’s only supposed to be a day trip.  (I bought this bag last night in the hotel room!  For real – lesson learned!!)
  • Always pack extra unmentionables and an extra top.  Suits are versatile and a new top can at least make you feel fresh in an emergency.
  • Emergency flats are a necessity too.  (I try to have at least one day between wears so I don’t stretch out or wear out my shoes.)
  • Walgreens does not sell clothing.

So there you have it.  Can’t wait to get home and change!

xoxo,
Blondie, esq.

2 thoughts on “Make It Work!

Polite comments are always welcome. Thank you!