Podcasts

Hello, friends!

Are any of you podcast listeners?  I listened to both seasons of Serial when they first came out but otherwise hadn’t dipped my toes in the water much further until recently.  I’m not an audiobook person; I just can’t concentrate on them and I prefer reading to listening.  But lately I’ve found some really great podcasts that keep my attention and fill drive time–win win.

First on the list are my every day podcasts: Up First by NPR and The Daily by the NY Times.  They are both designed to give you a daily dose of important news without becoming overwhelming.  If you follow me on Instagram, it’s no secret that I have been in mourning since January 20th.  RIP America.  💔  I have to balance my need to know what’s happening in our country and the world with the need for self care: it’s been really easy for me to sink into depression as I watch the United States go backwards.  Working from home doesn’t help this, nor does Facebook.  But we can’t bury our heads in the sand.  Enter these two podcasts: Up First is 12 minutes and The Daily is around 20, give or take.  Both are excellent in terms of content, hosts, and guests.  I can’t recommend them enough.

My other favorite podcasts are all produced by Crooked Media.  Pod Save America is described as “a no bullshit conversation about politics” and that’s exactly what it is.  I credit these amazing folks with keeping me sane on a weekly basis.  If you’re a fan of this administration’s reign of terror, you won’t like it.  (But also, I question your sanity.  Sorry not sorry.)  I appreciate their insight, the stories they highlight, their guests, and–most of all–their commitment to calling out the ridiculous nonsense that’s going on in Washington.  I’m slowly getting into their other podcasts too (Pod Save the People and Lovett or Leave It are cued up next).

I also absolutely loved S-Town: it was described by the hilarious and smart people at Crime Writers On as a podcast/novel hybrid.  It’s beautifully done and such an interesting story.  But if you are anything like me, you will need Kleenex.  I also recommend that you avoid listening to it in public.  I earned some strange looks with tears streaming down my face at CVS.  Crime Writers On is great too, and I get a huge kick out of …These Are Their Stories.  Missing Richard Simmons was fascinating too.

Have you jumped on the podcast band wagon?  What are you listening to?  I’d love to hear about it.

Hope you are having a wonderful week, dear readers.

xoxo,
Jenn

Polite comments are always welcome. Thank you!

