A Few of My Favorite Things

Hi, friends!

I thought I’d write a quick post with some recent favorite things.  This is unsponsored and in no particular order.

Screen Shot 2017-05-03 at 12.12.30 PM.pngNumber one is MAC’s Face & Body Mixing Medium–the white version of their iconic foundation.  HOW DID I NOT KNOW ABOUT THIS GLORIOUS PRODUCT SOONER?!?  It’s a light coverage, oil-free mixer that gives a natural finish and finally allows me to achieve the unachievable: foundation that matches the rest of my vampiric body.  I mix in a 50/50 ratio, and, so far, it has worked in a dreamy fashion with every single one of my foundations.  (Currently loving it with the Cle de Peau Cream foundation in shade I10.)  If you are a fellow fair-skinned gal, I can’t recommend this enough.  I bought mine on MAC’s website.

Screen Shot 2017-05-03 at 11.35.29 AMProduct number two is something my husband and I both love: the Cremo Original Concentrated Shave Cream.  This is no frills cream is extremely concentrated, so it lasts forever, and delivers as promised: a super close shave that minimizes nicks (and I’m a pro in this regard, trust me.  Bandaids are a girl’s best friend).  It has a very slight, clean fragrance and leaves your skin soft and hair free.  There’s a mango coconut version if you’re into that thing (I don’t like it but my husband does).  My only gripe with this company is that they market a version for women that seems to be exactly the same — but costs more.  Seriously?  Do your legs a favor and buy the original one asap.  I get mine from Amazon but I’ve seen it at drugstores too.

Screen Shot 2017-05-03 at 11.52.45 AM.pngLast, but certainly not least, is my most recent favorite: the Peter Thomas Roth Water Drench Cloud Serum.  I have been searching for a hydrating serum for a while.  My skin is normal to combination: I get shiny in the t-zone but the rest of my face can be dry AF.  In other words, I need moisture but heavier creams can leave my face more oily than glowy, and can cause my foundation to slide around my face.  No bueno.  I had my eye on the Tatcha Deep Hydration Firming Serum, but fate intervened.  I won a Nordstrom gift card from one of my favorite beauty bloggers, Maree at A Little Bit Etc., and she shared her VIB sale recommendations video.  I immediately ordered the Drench Cloud Serum (and two other goodies), and it was exactly what my skin needed.  But, full disclosure, I wasn’t sure what to think at first.

One pump of this very liquidy gel absorbed quickly but left a slightly sticky, almost tight feeling.  Nevertheless, I persisted with my routine and put the lotion on the skin (my beloved La Mer Moisturizing Cream).  It absorbed as it usually did, the sticky/tight feelings disappeared, and I woke to unbelievably soft, hydrated skin.  But the true test was yet to come.  In the morning, I used one pump under the La Mer face lotion with SPF, which is normally not enough moisture for me on its own.  And not only was my skin hydrated and comfortable all day long, three women asked me what I did to make my skin glow.  I’ve now been using it twice a day for the past week, and I layer on a second serum a few nights a week (it is an amazing base for Sunday Riley’s Good Genes!).  Quite simply, it’s a fantastic product.  If you haven’t tried a hydrating serum yet, there are a lot of good options, and Maree’s blog is an excellent place to start.

I’d love to hear about any of your favorite products!  Skincare posts are my favorite ones to read (and some of my favorite Instagram accounts).  And thanks again to Maree for the gift card!  I found out that I won on less than stellar day, and it was a wonderful surprise.  It truly is the little things, friends.

xoxo,
Jenn

2 thoughts on “A Few of My Favorite Things

Polite comments are always welcome. Thank you!

