Makeup Monday: the Best Brushes

Hello, friends!

I’ve been talking a lot about my favorite makeup products, but I realize I’ve left out one of the most important categories – the tools!  I’ve tried a lot of makeup brushes over the years, but there is one line that simply blows all the competition out of the water: the amazing brushes by Wayne Goss.

Wayne Goss Brush Review

Wayne a makeup artist out of the U.K. who makes some of my favorite YouTube videos: tutorials, reviews, tips, and more.  He’s not only a talented artist, but a genuinely awesome person.  His videos are informative, helpful, hilarious, and, above all, honest.  He’s shared some very personal details about his life, as well as candid conversations about cosmetic procedures and skincare.

.

I’ve been a fan for years, so when I heard Wayne was designing a line of brushes, I couldn’t wait to snap them up!   Here’s my collection {so far 😉}:

Wayne Goss brush review

Starting at the top and moving clockwise: Brush 16The Holiday BrushBrush 03Brush 06Brush 17Brush 02Brush 05Brush 11, and Brush 04.

Before Wayne Goss started making his amazing brushes, I thought I could only use synthetics. My eyes are extremely sensitive, and nearly every other natural hair brush I tried irritated my eyes or felt like they scratched or dragged my lids.  Wayne’s brushes are the softest brushes on the planet.  I’m talking kitten fur, pussy willow, golden retriever puppy soft.  I may or may not brush them on my face even without product from time to time. 😉 And I love that they are handcrafted and cruelty free.

The brushes are available both individually and in sets: the original Collection, the Face Set, and the Eye Set.  Honestly, I wish I would have just purchased the collections instead of buying individually; if you want to invest in quality brushes, you cannot go wrong with any one of these sets!  The next ones on my wish list are brushes 12, 13, 14, 19, and 20.  Beautylish includes detailed descriptions of how to use each of Wayne’s brushes, and he also made videos to walk you through each brush of the original Collection and the two sets.  Here’s the Face Set video, although fair warning: you’re going to want to buy them all immediately {and this anglophile just loves Wayne’s accent!}.

I have hooded/deep set eyes, and I find that Brush 04 is absolute perfection for adding definition in and above my crease.  The shape allows for precise application exactly where you want the color, and the softness makes blending an absolute dream.  It also picks up and holds the perfect amount of color with no fall out.  I’ve used this brush almost every single day since purchasing in January 2014 and it has not lost any of its shape or softness despite {nearly} weekly washings.  Brush 05 is also great for adding precise color into the crease, and it’s gentle enough to smudge eyeliner and shadow right into the lash line.  Here are brushes 03, 04, and 05 for size comparison {courtesy of Beautylish}:

Wayne Brushes 03 04 05 review

Brush 03 is perfect for that finishing touch; it’s larger size makes blending quick and easy, and it’s softness means you won’t undue any of your eye contour while still erasing any harsh lines. If I could only choose two eye brushes from the line, brushes 03 and 04 would be it (although that would be a tragedy, because they are each unique and amazing).  I love brush 06 for precise application of color onto my upper eyelid, but it’s slight curve allows you to blend and pull the shadow outwards {so it’s perfect for Charlotte Tilbury’s signature feline looks}.  Brush 17 is also one of my daily brushes for applying base color all over the lid.

Brush 16 is my favorite brush for applying and blending under eye concealer: in fact, it’s the only brush I’ve ever tried that blends concealer without streaks and doesn’t irritate my sensitive eyes. I also love using it to whisk away excess powder after setting concealer for a seamless finish that will last all day.  I use the Holiday Brush to apply powder on my t-zone, and it’s slightly pointed tip allows for precise application while never disturbing your foundation.  And I love Brush 02 for highlighting, contouring, and applying bronzer.  It is an absolute dream with Charlotte Tilbury’s Bronze + Glow {Nordstrom or Beautylish} as well as the Urban Decay Naked Flushed palettes {Nordstrom or Sephora}.

Charlotte Tilbury Bronze and Glow Clinique BB Cream Wayne Goss Brush 02 11 By Terry Terrybly Mascara Benefit Gimme Brow Bobbi Brown Blush

Brush 11 is the best brush I have ever used for applying blush!  The rounded tip picks up the perfect amount of product, and the soft bristles allow you to blend without disturbing foundation one bit.  My go-to blush is Hourglass’s Ethereal Glow {Nordstrom or Sephora}, and this brush fits so perfectly into the compact I swear they were meant to be used together.  Brush 11 is also great for bronzing and powder, although I prefer the Holiday Brush to set my makeup. Brush 11 is irreplaceable in my collection and I use it every day.

Please don’t be intimidated by the prices: these brushes are worth the investment.  They are easy to clean, hold their shape, and the softness is unparalleled.  Although I do have some other brushes in my collection {mostly because I’m admittedly lazy and can’t bear the thought of washing more than once a week, at best}, I always reach for my Wayne Goss brushes first, and they are the only ones I travel with.

Speaking of washing, I’m off to do just that.  I hope you enjoyed this post, and I’d love to hear about your experiences with Wayne’s delightful brushes!  As always, thank you so very much for stopping by.

xoxo,
Jenn

Polite comments are always welcome. Thank you!

