Holy Grail Foundation #3

Hello, friends!

My third holy grail foundation is actually the first one I found back in December 2013: the stunning By Terry Terrybly Densiliss foundation {available at Barney’s, Space NKBeauty.com, and Beautylish}.  My other two holy grail foundation can be found here and here.  Here’s what Beautylish has to say about this lovely foundation:

Terrybly Densiliss Wrinkle Control Serum Foundation review shade 2 cream ivory

Terrybly Densiliss is a foundation serum enriched in skincare benefits with wrinkle control and firming properties that blends in like a second-skin. Wrinkles, whether deep or newly appearing, are targeted so that even the most lined skins are exceptionally smoothed. Its exclusive Densiliss technology, combined with the Mimetic Factor, a patented plant active ingredient, simulates fibroblasts and collagen synthesis by mimetism, acting at the heart of cellular mechanisms, imparting an immediate and long-lasting rejuvenating effect. The complexion is luminous, wrapped in an optimal and ultra-natural biomimetic coverage. The contours are reshaped and appear lifted, wrinkles look perfectly smoothed, the skin’s texture is refined and firmer with a newfound radiance and resplendently younger-looking.

Before By Terry Densiliss, I had nearly given up on finding a foundation that actually matched my skin tone.  And I literally tried them all: Mac, Chanel, Tom Ford, Armani, Make Up Forever, Bourjois, Estée Lauder, Bobbi Brown, etc. My skin is approximately N10 – meaning I have very fair skin with neutral undertones {neither pink nor yellow}.  Most foundations are too dark, too pink, or too yellow.  If I found a formula I liked, I mixed primer, moisturizer, and even white foundation to try to create the perfect color. Or I would find a color that was close {like Bobbi Brown’s Skin foundation in Alabaster} only to be disappointed by the formula {only lasts about 5 hours on my skin}.  So when I discovered the Beauty Professor’s blog, and read her spot on color descriptions and glowing review of the formula, I couldn’t wait to try it.

I was surprised to find that the lightest shade of this foundation likely wouldn’t work for me based on Rachel’s swatches and descriptions.  In most foundation lines, especially those that do not have parallel numbering systems based on skin tone {like Yves Saint Laurent}, the lightest shade had always been the closest match for my skin.  But I could tell from Rachel’s pictures that shade 1 would be too pink.  I chose shade 2 {cream ivory} and it was the first foundation that truly matched my skin tone!  Cream ivory is fair without being pink or yellow, and the creamy formula melts into my skin to create a flawless, natural looking base.

Terrybly Densiliss Wrinkle Control Serum Foundation review shade 2 cream ivory

Photo by Nathan French Photography

This foundation provides medium to full coverage but never looks cakey, and it truly feels weightless on the skin.  My face looks better and better throughout the day, and it gives me a lit from within glow.  It’s also a great foundation for long work days, because the lasting power is impressive {especially when used with the By Terry Densiliss primer}.  When I want a bit more luminosity, I’ll mix a dab of Charlotte Tilbury’s Wonder Glow {like I did today}. The Densiliss foundation is on the more expensive end, but a little bit goes a long way, and the stunning coverage is worth every penny.  It’s also the first foundation I finished in years {I’m on my second bottle and have one in the wings just in case!}.  So although the price seems steep, it’s far less than total price of the countless foundations I purchased that didn’t work.

Here’s the rest of the makeup I’m wearing in the photo above.

Terrybly Densiliss Wrinkle Control Serum Foundation review shade 2 cream ivory 2

By Terry Terrybly Densiliss foundation in shade 2 cream ivory
Charlotte Tilbury Wonder Glow {Nordstrom or Beautylish}
By Terry Terrybly Densiliss concealer in shade 1 fresh fair {Barney’s, Space NKBeauty.com, or Beautylish}
Charlotte Tilbury’s Brow Lift in Grace K {Nordstrom or Beautylish}
Bobbi Brown Blush in Pink Coral {Nordstrom or Sephora}
Wayne Goss Brush 11 (you need this!!) {Beautylish}
M·A·C’s Pro Longwear Paint Pot in Painterly {Nordstrom}
Bobbi Brown Shimmer Brick Eye Palette in Sea Pearls {similar}
Wayne Goss Brush 06 {Beautylish}
By Terry Terrybly Growth Booster mascara in Black Parti-Pris {Beautylish or Beauty.com}
Chanel Beauté de Cils Nourishing Mascara Base
Charlotte Tilbury Lip Cheat liner in Pink Venus {Nordstrom or Beautylish}
Charlotte Tilbury K.I.S.S.I.N.G. lipstick in Coachella Coral {Nordstrom or Beautylish}
Carmindy & Co. Carmindizing Duo Highlighter {HSN}

I’d love to hear about some of your holy grail foundations!  And please let me know if you’ve tried any of my favorites.

Hope you have a wonderful day!

xoxo,
Jenn

Polite comments are always welcome. Thank you!

