My Daily Sunscreen {And How to Get One for Free}

Hello friends!

Did you know that May is Skin Cancer Awareness Month?  I had been thinking about sharing my favorite daily sunscreens, but I felt it was even more important after I saw and shared this post on Facebook.  Sobering to say the least…  And in honor of Skin Cancer Awareness Month, I would love to give you one of my favorite products!  Please keep reading to find out more.

First, it should go without saying that tanning beds are not okay. Aside from rapidly aging your skin, it’s proven to be seriously dangerous.  When I first moved to California, I fell into the tanning bed trap to try to fit into what I thought was the “California Girl” mold. Thankfully it didn’t last long, partly because of the effects of daily tanning I saw on my friends: leathery skin is no bueno.  {I hope they have stopped tanning too!}

I’ve been wearing sunscreen nonstop for the past 10+ years and I’ve come to love my fair skin, especially since I found pale foundations to match it.  {Some of my favorites are discussed here, here, and here.}  But my arsenal lacked two key products: a daily body sunscreen that didn’t leave a white cast or leave my skin feeling greasy or sticky, and a way to reapply sunscreen over makeup without undoing all the work.  Today I’m sharing these two gems with you.

Rodan and Fields Body Sunscreen + Goldfaden MD Sun Visor Spray

They are both SPF 30, which is perfect for my normal daily routine.  {I do prefer a heavier body sunscreen if I’m going to be in the sun for an extended period of time, especially around water.  This lotion and this spray are two of my favorites.}  But while I love those for vacation, I don’t want to “feel” like I’m wearing sunscreen in my daily life {or smell like it either}.

Rodan and Fields Essentials Broad Spectrum SPF 30 Body Sunscreen

I’ve tried so many drugstore and high end lotions with sunscreen in my hunt to find one that actually felt like lotion.  And the Rodan + Fields Essentials Body Sunscreen is the first one to actually deliver.  It absorbs quickly, has a pleasant scent that immediately fades, and leaves your skin moisturized without being at all sticky or greasy.  There’s no white cast, nor does it leave a shiny finish.  It doesn’t irritate my sensitive skin and it’s great for the whole family (men, women, and kiddos). It’s also the first sunscreen I’ve ever been able to apply to the part in my hair without causing the roots to get greasy or look dirty.   {There’s nothing worse than a sun burn on your scalp!  Shampooing is miserable, and the peeling, flaking aftermath is not sexy.}

Goldfaden MD Sun Visor SPF 30

Goldfaden MD Sun Visor SPF 30 is another recent discovery that never leaves my handbag.  For years I’ve wrestled with how to reapply sunscreen during the day without disturbing my makeup.  I tried powder sunscreens but they just don’t agree with my dry skin. This spray is indispensable: it’s light, absorbs quickly, doesn’t disturb makeup, and doesn’t leave a white or powdery residue.  It’s also great under makeup {or as a base sunscreen} if you feel like you want a bit more protection.  It does have more of a “sunscreeny” fragrance, but it fades immediately.  You only need a spray or two to cover your whole face, so this bottle will last a long time {especially if it’s a backup to your regular morning sunscreen}.

Speaking of which, I love my current morning routine!

Unblemish Regimen Redefine Triple Defense Treatment Redefine Eye Cream

The Redefine Triple Defense Treatment contains a broad spectrum SPF 30, keeps my dry skin soft and hydrated, and contains a clinically proven concentration of powerful peptides to reduce the appearance of lines and wrinkles and visibly firm skin.  And it is a dream under makeup!!  I also love the Reverse Broad Spectrum SPF 50+ Sunscreen for days when I know I’ll be spending more time outside.

Screen Shot 2015-05-13 at 3.56.13 PM

Each of Rodan + Fields sunscreens have also been awarded the Skin Cancer Foundation’s Seal of Recommendation. This designation is only granted to sun protection products that meet stringent criteria and provide scientific data to demonstrate that the product sufficiently and safely aids in the prevention of sun-induced damage to the skin.

And each of the Rodan + Fields regimens comes with a sunscreen.  In order to protect yourself from the health risks, everyone should be wearing daily sunscreen: men and women of all skin color, regardless of how quickly your skin tans or burns.  It’s just not worth the risk to skip this simple and effective preventative measure.  Which leads me to the giveaway!!

tumblr_n0alxky6nZ1s3y9slo2_500

From now through May 31st, I will give one of my favorite Rodan + Fields Essentials Body Sunscreens to everyone who purchases a skincare regimen through our Preferred Customer program.  Please send me an email so we can figure out which regimen is right for you! {jenn.m.french at gmail dot com}  It’s the perfect time of year to get started on an SPF routine before those long summer days of fun.  As one of my fellow consultants wisely said, “Your skin will be with you until the end…treat it well.”

Thanks so much for reading!

xoxo,
Jenn

4 thoughts on “My Daily Sunscreen {And How to Get One for Free}

  1. Amber says:

    I bought the Goldfaden spray after reading this post. I used it this weekend for the first time, and absolutely love it! Thanks for the tip!

Polite comments are always welcome. Thank you!

