Makeup Monday: Holy Grail Foundation #2

Hello, friends!

I had already planned on sharing another one of my holy grail foundations today – Yves Saint Laurent’s Fusion Ink Foundation – and then I discovered that it’s currently 10% off at Nordstrom!  How’s that for serendipity?!  {It’s also available at Sephora.}

YSL Yves Saint Laurent Fusion Ink Foundation Le Teint Encre de Peau B10 Porcelain J.Crew Factory paisley jewelry tray

This was my go-to foundation during last year’s very hot summer in Southern California, and I’m so excited to add it back into my rotation.  It was the winner of Allure magazine’s ‘Best of Beauty’ Award for Best Foundation in 2014, and I couldn’t agree more.  Here’s the official description, courtesy of Nordstrom:

“Fusion Ink Foundation feels like a feather but wears like an ink, bringing you color without compromise.  The exclusive fine-as-ink formula perfects your skin while wearing weightlessly all day without ever feeling cakey or heavy, all while bringing you 24 hours of soft matte perfection and comfort.”

This foundation is very “liquidy,” but don’t let the formula fool you: it is highly pigmented, which means a little bit goes a long way {i.e., that little bottle will last forever}.  Fusion Ink melts into your face to reveal the most skin-like finish of any foundation I have ever tried, and layers beautifully up to full coverage.

YSL Yves Saint Laurent Fusion Ink Foundation Le Teint Encre de Peau B10 Porcelain

Personally, I find it applies best with my fingers, although I do use my trusty BeautyBlender to blend after applying concealer, especially around my nose and chin.v I also prefer to apply it to the back of my hand, rather than straight from the wand.  Trust me, you will need less of this product than you think, and if you go apply straight from the wand you may end up with more product than you need.

When I first started using Fusion Ink, before I discovered Rodan + Fields, I used to dip the wand in four times to cover my acne scars and active blemishes; I applied two to three layers where I needed the most coverage {my cheeks and chin}. Today, my scars are almost gone and I’m virtually blemish free, so this one dip is more than enough to cover my entire face.  Here’s an un-edited picture of my finished face in natural light:

YSL Yves Saint Laurent Fusion Ink Foundation Le Teint Encre de Peau B10 Porcelain Buxom Monte Carlo Color No Filter 2

See what I mean about highly pigmented??  The coverage of this foundation blows my mind, but I love that I can still see my freckles.  I do find that the foundation “sets” in about two minutes, so I recommend using concealer immediately afterwards and blending with a sponge or brush to ensure everything places nicely on your face. Similarly, I usually wait to apply powder blush, bronzer, or highlighter until after it sets.

Here are the rest of the products I used to complete the look:

Flat Lay YSL Yves Saint Laurent Fusion Ink Foundation Le Teint Encre de Peau Buxom Monte Carlo Color Benefit Hervana Charlotte Tilbury Fat Full Lashes Anastasia Beverly Hills brow pencil blonde Cle de Peau Beate concealer Stila lush lips primer

If you struggle to find that perfect match for your skin, I highly recommend Yves Saint Laurent foundations.  Unlike M.A.C., Chanel, and many other brands, YSL makes three color families: B {for neutral undertones}, BR {for rosy undertones}, and BD {for warm/golden undertones}.  Not sure which shade is right for you?  Check out these helpful swatches.  I wear B10, porcelain, and it’s absolutely the perfect shade for my skin: not too pink, not too yellow, not too dark.

Here are two more pictures of the finished look, this time slightly edited to compensate for the very bright white walls and shades that reflect the natural light in our bedroom. {These pictures accurately reflect the colors of my makeup and my dress.}

YSL Yves Saint Laurent Fusion Ink Foundation Le Teint Encre de Peau B10 Porcelain Buxom Monte Carlo Color Corrected

I don’t need to set it with powder, and I can wear it comfortably for hours without needing a touch up.  It doesn’t separate, move, or get patchy {even on my normal to dry skin}, but it does get a bit dewier over time without ever looking greasy or oily.  I can’t speak to the claim of 24 hour wear, but honestly, why would you ever need foundation to last that long?!  But here’s a no filter picture from September 2014 on an 80+ degree evening after nearly 12 hours of wear and two 75-mile train rides:

YSL Yves Saint Laurent Fusion Ink Foundation Le Teint Encre de Peau B10 Porcelain J.Crew Silk cat-print blouse in bunglow blue no filter

Pretty amazing, no?  {I just realized I’m wearing the same earrings too.  This post was clearly meant to be.}

If you haven’t tried this gem yet, now is the perfect time.  Please let me know if you have any questions, and if you’ve tried it, I would love to know what you think!

As always, thank you so very much for reading!

xoxo,
Jenn

4 thoughts on “Makeup Monday: Holy Grail Foundation #2

Polite comments are always welcome. Thank you!

