I Believe in Wearing Lipstick

Hello, friends!

As much fun as I’ve been having with the nude makeup trend, I prefer the way my face looks when I’m wearing a bright or dark lipstick.  Maybe I’m subconsciously trying to balance out my eyebrows?  On that front, I am overdue for some professional guidance.  I basically just let them run wild after slightly filling in the gaps with this or this.  But I could use some shaping to be on fleek. 😉  [Couldn’t resist; thank you, google and urban dictionary.]  But I digress.  More often than not, I plan my makeup (and sometimes my outfits) around lipstick.  My perfect (as possible) pout has five steps: exfoliation, moisture, base, liner, and lipstick.  It might seem like a lot, but let’s not kid ourselves, ladies; this is not exactly a low maintenance look.

bright lipstick beauty blog review selfie

Exfoliation is key, especially with long lasting formulas and darker colors.  If you skip this step, the lipstick will cling to dry patches and settle into fine lines, which is no bueno, especially when the focus is on your lips.  I had been searching for a new exfoliator ever since tarte discontinued my beloved FRXtion.  (I tried its replacement, but I don’t love the packaging.)  So you can only imagine my delight when I discovered this little gem,** which I love even more than the FRXtion!

by terry Baume de Rose Crystal lip micro dermabrasion prep prime lip

The Lip Micro-Dermabrasion comes in a narrow tube that fits perfectly on my lips and whisks away dead skin in a flash.  It’s the last step of my skincare routine and the first step for makeup (even before primer and foundation) because I want plenty of time for my lips to absorb the moisture in step two.  I just bought my second tube of the amazing By Terry lip balm, and I also love this one (both contain SPF 15).  And the fresh grapefruit scent and SPF 25 have me swooning over this lip treatment, which my husband also loves.  If I time things right, my lip balm is almost completely absorbed before step three (prime/neutralize).  My favorites are from M·A·C (pictured above) and Guerlain, but this Stila one is on my wish list.

colour pop lippie stix pencil LBB

Today I’m wearing Colour Pop’s lippie stix and liner in the shade LBB, a “rich plum wine in a matte finish.”  I use the liner all over my lips for added staying power and finish with a healthy dose of lipstick.

colour pop lippie stix pencil LBB swatches

Guys, I cannot rave enough about Colour Pop!!  The products are all made here in Southern California (Los Angeles, to be exact), and all the lip products are just $5!!  The packaging is very simple, but the products perform far better than any other at this price point (and better than many expensive brands!).  Lippie stix apply like a dream; they are highly pigmented, last forever, and do not dry out my lips at all.  There is a slight vanilla scent but it fades quickly.  And while I do get some color transfer when eating or drinking, it leaves a lip stain that tides me over until the next touch up.  I have four colors and I’m dying to add a bright pink or two to my collection.  Plus the color descriptions are helpful, accurate, and include swatches on different skin tones–brilliant!  Whether you are a lipstick addict or just venturing into the world of bright lips, you can’t go wrong with Colour Pop.

Have you tried any of these products?  I’d love to hear about your experiences!

Thank you so much for stopping by.

xoxo,
jenn

** I am an independent consultant for Rodan + Fields, the new anti-aging company founded by the Proactiv doctors, but this is not a sponsored post.  I buy and use R+F products because I love them, and these are my personal opinions.  I’ll be posting more about this in the future, but if you are still on the hunt for the best skin of your life, please email me (jenn.m.french at gmail).  This VIB Rouge tried everything twice before finally finding the products that are reinventing my skin.

4 thoughts on “I Believe in Wearing Lipstick

  1. Catherine says:

    So cute! Not to change the suject of your post. But we’re did you get that lovely “pilot” shirt?
    I am looking all over for one like that in white cotton. Xxoo

    • Blondie, Esquire says:

      Thank you! It’s a white chambray tunic from J.Crew Factory. I’ve had it for a few years but they have a similar one for sale now (and 30% off with the code ADDITUP). Happy shopping!

      xoxo,
      Jenn

Polite comments are always welcome. Thank you!

