Holy Grail Foundation #1

Hello, friends!

Is it me or did this week fly by?  It’s interesting how your perspective changes when you make the switch from employee to entrepreneur.  There really is something empowering about being in charge of your schedule, especially if you’ve worked in law or another field where someone’s poor planning becomes your emergency (i.e., your late night or weekend in the office).  I am still adjusting to my new life but these days my inner monologue has switched from “it’s only Wednesday???” to “it’s already Wednesday?!!” and I couldn’t be happier.  🙂

Zelens Age ControlSpeaking of happy, if you love makeup, you understand the joy that comes from finding your holy grail foundation: that magical product that matches your skin tone, leaves your face looking flawless, lasts all day, and, as an added bonus, leaves your skin looking better than it did the day before.  The first holy grail foundation I’m sharing with you all is actually my most recent acquisition–mainly because I can’t stop wearing it!  It’s the Zelens Age Control foundation, which you can purchase at Barneys.  I knew this would be my next foundation purchase after reading the glowing reviews from the lovely ladies at Café Makeup and the Beauty Professor, and I couldn’t be happier!  I wear the shade Cameo, but if you’re not sure which shade is best for you, I highly recommend visiting Rachel Anise, the Beauty Professor.

Barneys says the following about this glorious foundation (but please disregard the typos!): “A skin-perfecting treatment foundation providing long-lasting natural-looking medium to full coverage.  The moisture-enhancing formulate helps restore firmness and elasticity with a complex of 17 active ingredients including peptides and antioxidants.  Photo-luminescent diamond spheres optically veil imperfections, helm minimize the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles.  Oil-free. Dermatologist-tested.”

I used to be a die hard fan of applying foundation with my fingers, but I finally figured out how to use my beautyblender, and I can’t stop!  (Side note: I have the white one but I’d recommend you go with the standard pink–even with daily washing it is so hard to keep the white one white!)  If you’re like me and this puppy sat unused for months while you pondered its use, kindly watch this video.  I do still prefer applying more liquid-y foundations with my fingers (e.g., YSL fusion ink), but for thicker liquids and creams, the beautyblender delivers an airbrushed, flawless finish.

After priming my skin with one pump of By Terry Terrybly Densiliss primer (which you can purchase herehere, or here), I put one pump of foundation on the back of my hand.  It’s more than enough for my whole face, and almost too much if I use my fingers instead of the beautyblender.  Here are a few unfiltered pictures I took this morning, although the vanity globe bulbs add their own charming tinge…

IMG_9201                        IMG_9203

As I do with most foundations, I mixed in a bit of Charlotte Tilbury’s Wonder Glow (here).  This product is the epitome of je ne sais quoi; I honestly can’t describe it other than to say that it just makes your skin look amazing.  I’ve been using it almost every day for months and have barely made a dent.  Absolutely one of my favorite Charlotte Tilbury products!  I mixed these together and applied with a damp beautyblender, and voilá!  Perfect canvas.  (Also, don’t get discouraged if you aren’t sure about the coverage immediately after application.  I find the foundation looks better and better over time, so you might even want to hold off on concealer while it settles into your skin.)  I also tried one of the the new Colour Pop blushes in Thumper for the prettiest pink glow.  Guys, this $8 cream to powder blush trumps every single expensive blush in my collection!!  Plus they don’t test on animals, and all the products are made right here in sunny California.  I am obsessed with this brand!

IMG_9204

IMG_9206

Here’s my full makeup look in natural light (which I would kill for in my bathroom…) and without any photo editing or filters.  I am just loving the nude trend for Spring, especially since my skin is finally cooperating!

IMG_9229

IMG_9227

I find that this foundation has incredible lasting power, and I only need a slight touch up with powder when my nose gets a bit shiny after literally hours of wear.  (Check out this picture for a glimpse into the magic of this product!)  It doesn’t separate, oxidize, slide around, or cling to dry patches.  While it is on the more expensive end of foundations, it’s also got added skincare benefits that makes it more than just base color.  If you have a bit more to spend on makeup, I cannot recommend this foundation enough!

Here’s one more picture, this time with indirect natural light.

IMG_9224

Please let me know if you have any questions about this lovely foundation, and I’d love to hear about your holy grail products!

As always, thank you so much for reading.

xoxo,
Jenn

6 thoughts on “Holy Grail Foundation #1

Polite comments are always welcome. Thank you!

