No makeup makeup

Happy Tuesday, friends!

I’d like to start my re-entry into the world of blogging by sharing some of my favorite makeup products with you.  I am by no means an expert; just a girl who loves makeup (it’s a VIB Rouge, MUJI drawer buying, never-enough-foundation, yes I really do need 20 red lipsticks kind of love).  As Rachel Zoe said, “Style is a way to say who you are without having to speak.”  I fully embrace this sentiment, and if you follow me Instagram, you know that a bold lip is certainly part of my signature style.  But every now and then I channel my inner mademoiselle and go for a fresh-faced look.  I also happened to get a sassy new haircut last week, which prompted an impromptu head shot, so it seemed like the perfect time to write my first blog post in a minute.  (Or  ~700K minutes.)

blondieesquire headshot san diego portrait photography

I went for this natural look for two reasons.  First, I’ve been lucky to discover not just one but multiple holy grail foundations thanks to some actual beauty experts, including the fantastic Beauty Professor (who I cannot thank enough!!).  Whether you are a die hard makeup lover or a bare faced neophyte, this blog is not to be missed.  Second, I’ve recently discovered a new skin care line that is making me jump up and down for joy on a daily basis.  This one-two punch has me reaching for fewer products and enjoying the simplicity of glowing skin.  I’ll be writing more about each of these reasons in the future, but a quick disclaimer–some of these products are expensive.  In my experience, however, these products are worth every penny and actually deliver the promised results (which is more than I can say for the box of rejected foundations that I accumulated over the years before discovering my favorites…).  And I try to balance my makeup drawer(s) with more affordable (but equally as amazing) products, like these FIVE DOLLAR eyeshadows and lippie stix.  (Sorry not sorry for the emphasis, these babies are that good!)

I’m only writing in detail about one of the products that I used above in order to avoid the longestblogpostever, but I’m happy to answer questions and plan to write more about my other favorite products soon.  🙂

Screen Shot 2015-02-21 at 1.23.51 PM

After applying my daily skincare (including SPF 50), I started with one pump of By Terry Terrybly Densiliss primer (which you can purchase Barney’sSpace NK, or Beauty.com).  I’ve tried a ton of primers but didn’t fall in love until By Terry.  (I started my By Terry addiction with this amazing lip balm, but be warned: it is a gateway drug into this drool worthy brand.)  Yes, this primer is expensive.  But I’ve used it almost daily since mid-October and I still have half of the bottle left.  Why is this a non-negotiable part of my routine?  It blurs imperfections, smooths the skin, and helps foundation both apply like a dream and last forever.  I’ve tried it over both physical and chemical sunscreens, and with a variety of foundations, and it has yet to disappoint.  I can’t promise it will work for you, but it’s certainly worth a try.

Here are the rest of the products I used to get this “no makeup” look and where you can find them:

  • Clé de Peau Beauté Cream Foundation in shade I10 (here, here, and here), mixed with Charlotte Tilbury’s Wonder Glow (here).
  • I concealed under my eyes with the Benefit Fake Up in light (here) and used the unbeatable Clé de Peau Beauté concealer in Ivory for spot concealing (here, here, or here).
  • For a natural flush, I wore a dab of By Terry Cellularose Blush Glace in Rose Melba (here) and used Benefit’s High Beam (here) to highlight.
  • I tried to keep it simple on the eyes by using M·A·C’s Pro Longwear Paint Pot in painterly (here) and Charlotte Tilbury’s browlift in Grace K (here), plus my latest and greatest mascara combo: Chanel Beauté des Cils Nourishing Mascara Base (here) + By Terry Mascara Terrybly in Mystic Orchid (here).
  • Finally, I went for a (rare) nude lip with Urban Decay’s Super-Saturated High Gloss Lip Color (here) and Naked Ultra Nourishing Lip Gloss (here), both in the shade Lovechild.

And voila, no makeup makeup!  Using only 13 products…. ha!  😉  As I contemplate the future of this blog, I’d like to continue to share makeup and beauty related posts, as well as composite posts of my outfits from Instagram (perhaps to show how I’ve been remixing my closet during my last few months of no shopping).  If this sounds interesting to you, please let me know in the comments!

Thank you so much for reading, I really appreciate it!

xoxo,
Jenn (Blondie, Esq.)

PS: if you are an online shopper and haven’t joined Ebates, you are missing out!  Click here to sign up and feel free to leave questions in the comments.  In a nutshell: cash back for online shopping.

4 thoughts on “No makeup makeup

Polite comments are always welcome. Thank you!

