To Suit or Not to Suit

Here’s what I wore today for a hearing and a client meeting.

<J.Crew charcoal gray 1035 jacket and in-box pencil skirt in super 120s> <J.Crew factory merino turtleneck sweater – buy> <J.Crew factory resin drop necklace – buy> <Nordstrom ultra sheer pantyhose – buy> <Kate Spade wedge pumps>

I thought about wearing this jacket instead of the matching suit coat, but at the last minute I decided it was a little too much color for court.  But after seeing what other attorneys wear, I’m not sure why!  I often think that women lawyers dress too casually (there was an attorney in a muumuu yesterday!) so maybe that’s it?  To me, dressing appropriately for court is part of respecting the robe, the room, and the process.  And I rarely see a male attorney in court without a suit.  Thoughts?  Anyway, I really liked the color combination so expect to see this look again soon.  🙂

TWO days until turkey!!!  Cannot wait.

xoxo,

13 thoughts on “To Suit or Not to Suit

  1. evangelina says:

    I always wear a matching suit to court, even though I practice in juvenile court and it’s much more relaxed there. I can’t imagine going to “grown up court” in anything less than a full suit, so my vote is SUIT!

    🙂

    • Blondie, Esq. says:

      Haha thanks! I usually vote suits too, although I wore my black watch plaid jacket with a black skirt. I generally don’t mind mixing neutrals, but for some reason the orange, teal, and cobalt combo felt like too much. I have no idea why! 🙂

  2. Samantha @ Sam ipsa loquitur says:

    I dress up, but I don’t always suit up. For a jury trial, I’d absolutely wear a suit, but for day to day bench trials, I feel like as long as I’m put together, not wrinkly, and generally look like I have my stuff together, that’s enough. Respecting the process is huge – court days are NOT when I try out new things or walking in looking like Rainbow Brite.

    And I agree- the things I see some women (and some men, too) wear are ASTOUNDING. Get your fleece zip ups and your flip flops outta here.

    Samantha @ Sam ipsa loquitur

    • Cee says:

      I know…

      I wish I had a dollar for every time I’ve seen someone about to face court in ” ensembles ” the average person would either burn or only wear when they’re cleaning the toilet.

        • Cee says:

          My favourite was the lass with her boyfriend ( not sure who was facing court out of the two ) wearing a cropped singlet, sleeveless hoodie, ” bandaid ” denim mini, ugg boots, trash/skank make up…and to top if off she was sporting two large hickies on both sides of her throat 😛

          What’s more it was a coolish day, so she could’ve covered them with either a scarf or turtleneck if she wanted to !

    • Blondie, Esq. says:

      Haha yes – I think the jacket would definitely have pushed me into the rainbow brite category! But I’m definitely going to try it on a non-court day. I always used to wear matching suits no matter what, but after a 10 week trial, I started to mix it up. But I am definitely in favor of jackets v. cardigans, at least for court.

    • Blondie, Esq. says:

      Thank you! These are just sheer. And I aim towards becoming a “real” blogger with a camera someday, but for now I have to settle for my iPhone or the rare days when my husband takes pictures for me. 🙂

Polite comments are always welcome. Thank you!

