The Rules

Here’s what I wore yesterday.

<J.Crew jeweled sweater> <J.Crew pencil skirt in superfine cotton>
<Stuart Weitzman Platswoon pumps>

I like to break some of the old fashioned “rules” of fashion (e.g., no mixing metals, no pairing black with navy, no open toed shoes with tights, etc.).  One particular rule I completely break is the “no white after labor day rule.”  At the outset, I’m not sure why this got started anyway since summer continues until September 22nd.  I spent the past 10 years in SoCal, where every day is summer, so it was easy to disregard this rule.  But I also happen to love wintery whites, and I own a creamy white peacoat.

Anyone else break the “no white” rule?  What other fashion rules have you broken?

Thanks so much for reading!

xoxo,

8 thoughts on “The Rules

  1. The GSB says:

    I’m with you on the white “referendum”! 🙂 I think the fashion gods have finally started to acknowledge that barring white after Labor Day is a tired adage: winter white is becoming bigger every year! (And I just discovered that I kept my winter white ankle length Italian cashmere coat in the back of my coat closet–it wasn’t lost in the fire with the rest of my outwear! Can’t wait to rock it in two months!) Other than that I think I’m mostly a fashion conformist…although I totally overmatch my colors, to the point where it stops being socially acceptable, haha.

    • Blondie, Esq. says:

      YAY! I am so glad your coat made it!! Have you been filling out your closet with other missing items? I used to be more matchy matchy than I am now, but every now and then I can’t resist it either. 🙂

      • The GSB says:

        Yess I’m slowly taking inventory and trying to figure out what I need to purchase! (and picking up a plethora of things that I don’t really need along the way, haha) I’m waiting to see what The Crew rolls out for their warm outerwear this season before going coat shopping — their cuts fit so much better than whatever’s at the dept. stores 🙂

  2. Tweed and Toile says:

    I don’t adhere to the “old fashion rules” either and my co-workers frequently let me know it. :o) I heard someone just yesterday say, better wear my white jeans tomorrow because I won’t be able the wear them next week. Maybe, I’ll wear mine next week just for good measure. :o)

  3. Shawn says:

    Living in WI, the old no tights or hose with open toe shoes has really fallen by the wayside. Now people do it all the time to keep getting use out of shoes it may otherwise be too cold out to wear.

    I personally don’t wear white – well, darn near ever! That’s totally out of practicality, though, because I will be the first person to sit in or spill something really. 😉

Polite comments are always welcome. Thank you!

