In Moderation

striped boat-neck sweater – Old Navy (seen here, similar here)
favorite tank – J.Crew

boyfriend jean – American Eagle (similar here)
Converse Jack Purcell sneakers – J.Crew
puffer vest – J.Crew (similar here or here with fur!)
sunglasses – Marc by Marc Jacobs 
earrings (on sale!) and ring – t+j Designs

These pictures are from a few weeks ago, which was the last time I was home (insert homesick sighs here).  I hiked down to this beach with my husband.  In case you can tell from the pictures, I did not really know what I was in for when I got dressed.  I love these shoes but they are not super comfortable and I wouldn’t have worn jeans had I fully appreciated the hike ahead.  (And yes, I took a bottle of Pelegrino with me.  Which is slightly ridiculous.)

In other news, in case you try to post a comment, I had to switch into moderation mode.  I’ve met such a wonderful community of bloggers since I first started posting last year; I’ve really been lucky!  I get so excited every time WordPress sends me a notification of a recent comment.  Until yesterday that is.  I hadn’t checked my email before I received three texts from friends letting me know of a snarky blog comment.  Very few “real life” people know about my blog; I like to be reasonably anonymous so I’ve limited publication in my “real” life (e.g., it’s not on Facebook and most of my co-workers don’t know about it).  Ironically, the snarky comment was made by one of the few real life people who is in the know (and it’s not the first gem they have shared).

I don’t really understand this concept, but I know many of you have already dealt with this.  Why take the time to comment if you don’t have anything nice to say?  I almost didn’t want to post today but that would be letting my insecurities win.  Bottom line, I really do write this blog for me–although, like I said above, I really love all your comments and support!  So why is it that one thoughtless comment puts doubt on my whole project?  Any words of advice would be greatly appreciated: how do you deal with snarkiness?

xoxo,
Blondie, Esq.

7 thoughts on “In Moderation

  1. SEL says:

    I love the outfit! The beach background is perfect!

    You know who you are and what your purpose is. Do not let one insecure person bother you. People who make snarky negative comments try to bring others down so they feel better about themselves. You’re better than that, friend.

    xo

  2. Angela says:

    Gorgeous photos!!!! So jealous that you live near the beach. That would be so fun!

    As for the rude blog comment…I wish mean readers would stay away. If you don’t have anything nice to say, then don’t say anything at all! Some people must have missed that lesson as children.

  3. Kristen says:

    Ugh, snark? From a person YOU KNOW? They clearly have nothing better to do with their time. It’s hard and great that you put yourself out here – don’t let anyone stop you.

  4. The GSB says:

    Ouch, snarky comments hurt, but snarky comments from friends are just horrible! I used to have an comment policy, but a couple of really scathing (not to mention, incoherent and cretinous) comments really upset me, and now I am a mild proponent of censorship (or, rather, a proponent of mild censorship, haha). You generally have 3 choices when faced with a negative comment. You can delete it and try not to think about it, you can approve it and do nothing (or let your readers put the troll back in his/her place), or you can approve it and respond to the snark, either via e-mail or directly on your blog. When responding, it’s hard to not (a) take the comment personally, (b) stoop down to the commenter’s level, or (c) escalate things to an argument. These courses of action generally apply when you don’t know the person making the comment. If it’s a friend or someone who is a part of your blogging network, it might be effective to politely but firmly advise the assailant, off the blog grid, of the fact that the snarky comment was upsetting to you and that you would appreciate more foresight (and better judgment) from that individual in the future. And you can always remind the person of the old “if you have nothing nice to say, don’t say anything at all” adage. Above all else, don’t let one bad comment get you down!

    But on a happy note, THESE PHOTOS ARE GORGEOUS!!! (and reminiscent of a fancy Polo/Nautica ad, haha). Is it summer yet? 🙂

  5. Blondie, Esq. says:

    My dear friends, thank you so much for your wise words!! I apologize for the lengthy delay before my response – things have been crazy in the last few weeks!! I’ve had some time to cool down, and received a nice apology from the offender (tee hee), so I’m feeling back to myself again. The trial is finally over and I’m looking forward to getting back to my routine: wearing a variety of clothing that does not include suits and/or closed-toed black pumps, blogging every day, red lipstick, sleep — you know, the yoozh.

    Thanks for the encouragement, the comments, and for reading my silly little blog!!

    xoxo,
    Blondie, Esq.

Polite comments are always welcome. Thank you!

