Five Years

Five years ago on New Year’s Eve, I met my husband.

Neither of us planned to go out for New Year’s Eve.  I had just gotten back from christmas in Wisconsin, was in my first year of law school, and “was not going to meet my husband at a bar.”   Here’s a picture of 26 year old me in November 2006, on the way to Vegas.  Was my hair long or what?!  I think this is a shirt from Forever 21, and the jeans are probably Abercrombie (judging by the time period).

My husband had spent the day lounging in a friend’s pool, heated to near hot tub temperatures, drinking beer with his friends, and he wasn’t planning on going out that night either.  After texting a few friends who also felt like staying in, a good friend and I went to one of my favorite couple’s homes.  We made flirtinis (strawberry vodka, champagne, and pineapple juice, delish) and played asshole.  Good idea?

There may or may not be some pictures of all four of us wearing a tiara.

Around 11:00 my friends and I made a last minute decision to go to a club where my girlfriend worked.  Husband and his friends, one of whom worked with my girlfriend, made the same decision.  We ended up together in the VIP section around 11:45, after a ridiculous chain of events that our friends love to retell (and we don’t really remember entirely…).  Fifteen minutes later, we shared our first kiss at midnight.

Five years later, I’m starting my third year of practice, we’re married and living happily with our two cats.  So despite what “they” say, you just might meet your husband in a bar, stranger things have happened.  🙂

Here’s a picture on our one year anniversary.  I’m wearing a sparkly gold dress from The Limited.

And one from our trip to Mexico in 2009.

Here’s one from our amazingly fun Elvis wedding (outfit details here).

And here’s another one.

I had to work this year on our anniversary, but took a few breaks for some quality time.   We got massages, had a late breakfast at one of our favorite spots, and went to the beach.  Neither of us made it to midnight (we both fell asleep on the couch).  No sparkly outfit pictures from me this year, but we did drink champagne!

And in the spirit of full outfit disclosure, here’s what I’m wearing at work today.  There’s no one else here so I am much, much more casual than usual!  I haven’t worn this shirt in years but it called to me today.  Oh and these are my new favorite earrings – I do not know why I waited so long to get them!  They are just adorable.

Little Ms. Trouble tee, Urban Outfitters; cropped hooded sweatshirt, J.Crew; hi-rise retro flare jeans, Old Navy; platform sandals, Banana Republic; pearl & rhinestone earrings, t+j Designs; chronograph watch, Michael Kors

Sorry for the pitiful expression, haha!  Had to include this one to keep myself humble.  🙂

Here’s to a wonderful 2012!

xoxo,
Blondie, Esq.

8 thoughts on “Five Years

Polite comments are always welcome. Thank you!

