32 Flavors

I’m not sure how it happened, but another year went by and it’s my birthday again.  I’ve had ups and downs about my birthday over the years, mostly driven by expectations about what my life “should” be at various ages.  The one thing I’ve learned over the past 32 years is that John Lennon had it 100% right: “Life is what happens to you while you’re busy making other plans.”   I never would have thought I’d be living in Southern California, an attorney, married to a surf photographer, etc.  Life has certainly taken some unexpected turns but I couldn’t be happier with where I am this minute.  And who knows what the future will bring?  Can’t wait to find out.

Anyway, on to the fashion.  Here’s Saturday night:

Details:  Audri dress, bb dakota; glitter Ron Ron pumps, Christian Louboutin; peacoat, Kristen Blake; pin, (old, also seen here); silver sparkly knuckle ring, t+j Designs; bracelets, J.Crew and t+j Designs (shop here); clutch, N Y & Co.

Last night was my work holiday party.  It was really fun: open bar, yummy food, and a cover band featuring two attorneys from our DC office!  Hi-larious.  I found this super cute dress online at Mimi & Red, a chic boutique recommended by my dear friend Ms. Fancy on the Inside.   It arrived the day before the party, just in time, and fit perfectly.  I can’t wait to re-visit the store again soon!  (Oh, and I didn’t have time to take pictures before we left, because as always I didn’t plan enough time to get ready and we were running out the door.  So these are the after pics, which aren’t that bad all things considered!)

And here’s tonight:

Details: turtleneck (similar here) – corduroy skirt (similar here) – polka dot back-seam tights, J.Crew; patent leather pumps, Stuart Weitzman; gold fan drop earringsthree stone statement ring, t+j designs; sequin bag, Old Navy

        

For my actual birthday, I spent the day working at home (trial > birthdays), and then husband and I went out for a lovely dinner to celebrate (easily the best food I’ve had in San Diego.)  Overall, it was a great weekend.  And I’m feeling pretty great about my birthday this year; in the words of another very wise woman, I am 32 flavors and then some!

Thanks so much for reading.

xoxo,
Blondie, Esq.

19 thoughts on “32 Flavors

  1. evangelina says:

    Yay, birthday! Great outfits, and you’ll love Mimi & Red’s brick and mortar stores – much bigger selection. Oh – and I love that sequined bag! Who knew Old Navy had it in them?

Polite comments are always welcome. Thank you!

