Raindrops on Roses

It was a cold, rainy weekend.  I loved every minute of it.  It’s so nice to wear cozy layers and wellies outside and snuggle with popcorn and blankets inside.  I started the weekend off having pho with my favorite fellow fashionista, Ms. Fancy on the Inside, on Friday night.  Nothing better on a cold, rainy day than some hot and spicy pho!  She was rocking the cutest poncho too, I’m totally coveting it.  Click on the link for her pictures!

Here are a few pics from the rest of the weekend.

Details: solid opaque tights, J.Crew; jersey v-neck dress, J.Crew; cardigan sweater, Gap (last seen here); rainy day bow ballet flats, J.Crew (last seen here); silk-cashmere wrap, J.Crew; Bow pendant, Tiffany

I have the strangest expression in this first picture, please try not to look too closely.  🙂  I love this jersey dress, the pleats on the chest/shoulder are so cute.  This dress has a very, very deep v-neck, so I don’t ever wear it without a scarf or something else to keep the outfit PG.  I love how a warm sweater, tights, and a scarf help you take a summery dress into fall.  And these shoes… I just love them!  I read about them here and am so glad that I did.  They are the first pair of flats I’ve ever kept because they don’t hurt my heels at all.  And the rubber is really shiny and kind of looks like patent leather, so I (feel like I) can get away with wearing them even when it’s not raining.

My mom came over on Saturday afternoon to spend the night at my apartment for her birthday.  It  was perfect timing, since my husband is out of town on a business trip.  We drank wine, gossiped, and generally caught up.  It was so fun!  Except when we were all dressed up and excited to go in the hot tub, only to discover that it was not working!  The water was luke warm and the bubbles didn’t work.  Of course I did not make this discovery this until I was in waist-deep–I think I convinced myself that it would get warmer if I just got in deep enough… talk about denial!  We cracked up but what a bummer, cold weather is perfect for hot tubs!

Details: striped cowl-neck sweater dress, Old Navy (last seen here); super opaque tights, J.Crew; brooch, J.Crew (last seen here); wool peacoat, J.Crew (similar here); polka dot boots, Chooka; watch, Michael Kors; silver sparkly knuckle ring, t+j Designs; lips, Urban Decay super-saturated high gloss lip color in Fbomb; nails, Essie mint candy apple

       

Today was cold and rainy; the perfect day to try out my new boots!  A coworker recommended Chooka boots to me, and I am so glad she did!  After walking around all day, I might get some foot pads because they could use a little more cushioning.  But what’s better than bright yellow boots to break through the gloom?

I wore this dress for the second time today and loved it even more than last time.  It’s so comfy and I like the empire waist.  Plus the cowl neck is perfect for rainy weather–I was warm and cozy all day.  We went shopping and had (a very late) breakfast at one of my favorite diners.  It was a really fun day, and great to spend some girl time together.  I helped my mom pick out the cutest faux fur leopard vest (seriously adorable) and may or may not have purchased the Kate Bag I have been dreaming about for months at the Nordstrom half-yearly sale.  (It was on sale, so I had to buy it, right?  I mean, these things only happen twice a year…)  Unfortunately they didn’t have the color I wanted in stock, so they are shipping it to me.  Soooo excited!!

Hope you all had a wonderful weekend!

xoxo,
Blondie, Esq.

5 thoughts on “Raindrops on Roses

Polite comments are always welcome. Thank you!

