On Belts

Details:

  • Striped turtleneck tissue tee, J.Crew (similar here)
  • Military jacket, J.Crew (similar here)
  • Belt, J.Crew
  • Bootcut jeans, Gap (similar here)
  • Leopard peep toe pumps, Betsey Johnson
  • Statement necklace, J.Crew
  • Watch, Michael Kors
  • Silver sparkly knuckle ring, t+j Designs

        

        

First, this is a bit of a remix from my early blogging days.  I love pink and green and realized I haven’t done it in a while.  Plus it was rainy and foggy and overcast and overall gross this morning, so I wanted layers and comfort.  I love Betsey Johnson shoes.  I have a few pairs and they are whimsical, beautiful, and not tooooo painful.  Win!

And yes, I am so wearing my sparkly knuckle ring.  Again.  I am obsessed!!

Second, I’m loving this new waterproof eye pencil from Yves Saint Laurent (in amazon green).

You can’t really tell from these pictures, but it’s the prettiest green color!  The pencil is very soft so it draws a nice line without tugging, and was really easy to put on my water line.  It doesn’t last as long as the Make Up Forever Aqua Eye liners but it’s not a bad trade off for such a pretty green color.

Third, have we talked about belts before?  I love how others pull belted looks off effortlessly but haven’t reached that level of comfort yet.  I try to throw them in every now and then: enter the problem.  My husband, whether he likes it or not, is my morning fashion consultant.  For example, here’s how the conversation usually goes in the morning:

  • Me: does this look okay?
  • Husband: (without looking up) you look cute.
  • Me: seriously, you’re my roommate, I need help!
  • Husband: (looking up) still cute.

He’s a good sport, no?  Most of the time he doesn’t have many comments, but he’s a good check when something is not quite working.  That is, until I wear a belt.  Husband does not like belts.  At all.  No matter what.  It’s really funny.  So on days like today, the colloquy goes something like this:

  • Me: besides the belt, does this look okay?
  • Husband: the belt’s too high.
  • Me: besides the belt, does this look okay?
  • Husband: (grunts)

So what do you think?  Are you a belt girl?

xoxo,
Blondie, Esq.

PS – This post in no way intends to put husband on blast: he’s my best friend, my photographer (sometimes), and I’d be lost without him.  🙂

12 thoughts on “On Belts

  1. tiffany says:

    haha! my hubs doesn’t seem to like it when I belt stuff too! It’s really funny, every time I belt something he always says “I think I like it better without the belt.”

    I love this outfit, the stripes underneath the jacket is super cute! I’m glad you like the ring, I wear mine a lot too! 🙂

  2. respect the shoes says:

    It must be a man thing against the belting, because my BF is the same way. I think they’re just brainwashed into thinking we can’t belt anything without belt loops – I think you look great!

  3. The GSB says:

    Ahahaha love this post (and your outfit, of course)! My husb is pretty funny about commenting on my outfits. He appreciates my style on both ends of the spectrum (eccentric and minimalist), but generally approves them all (unless I’m wearing my neon spandex running clothes). Luckily, he does not mind the belts, or my severe penchant for matching them to my shoes. I own about 50 belts, I think (I’ve been meaning to do a post on them- thanks for the inspiration!). I do have a couple of stretchy/chain belts that double as jewelry or claspy holders for layering pashminas or open cardis. He has dubbed such belts the “multitaskers” and insists that I wear them regularly. It’s a riot! 🙂

Polite comments are always welcome. Thank you!

