Wine Country

Maxi Dress – Asos; Sandals / Jean Jacket – J.Crew

Watch – Michael Kors; Sunnies – Marc by Marc Jacobs

Necklace – Tiffany; Lips – Urban Decay in Crush

        

        

I love everything about this maxi dress.  It comes with a full length slip, I love the pattern, I love the shape, and I love how it moves.  It was the perfect outfit for today: comfy and stylish with minimal effort.  (This was slightly belied by my sandals – they are complicated!)  My hair is looking wild after yesterday’s explosion of volume and it took every makeup trick I know to avoid looking how I felt today (see below).

Oh and I somehow managed to pack for a four day/three night trip without bringing any sort of handbag.  Most of the time when I’m on business I use my briefcase and bring a small clutch to carry my wallet and phone, but I totally panicked in the packing department this time and forgot.  Inspired by Cheetah is the New Black, I improvised and turned one of my makeup bags into a clutch.  I am actually kind of loving it!  This is one of those free Lancome bags and it must be at least ten years old… at least.  I used it last night too with this outfit and my jean jacket.

Speaking of last night, I stayed at a friend’s house in Sonoma before heading to SF today for work.  I absolutely adore Sonoma.  The town square (the birthplace of California!) and surrounding areas are charming, and the rolling hills and vineyards are simply beautiful.  After a few glasses of wine and a bite to eat at the girl and the fig (get the croque monsieur), we bought a bottle of wine at Whole Foods and sat in the park.  What a lovely way to spend the evening!  When it got dark, we headed back to my friend’s house to drink wine and talk with a few of his friends (and his delightful new girlfriend).  We had a really fun time catching up but also drank a liddlebit too much wine.  And by a liddlebit, I mean way too much.  I am dying.  Must remember I am in my 30s….

After a slow (and painful) morning, we went to the Fremont Diner for lunch.  De-lish.  Thank god they had Mexican Coke because I was in desperate need of caffeine and sugar.  I had the grilled cheese, which was okay, and fries, which were so yummy.  The best part was the biscuits with fresh peach jelly (or marmalade or jam or something along those lines – I can’t remember).  So flaky and good.  My co-diners enjoyed the BLT and the friend chicken and waffles, and everyone left full and happy.  We ran into this guy too, but he had impatient, hungry kids in the car and didn’t stay to eat.  (Totally geeking out on my Food Network celebrity sighting!  My friend knows him and he’s really nice.)

My friend graciously drove me from Sonoma into the city and we stopped at the Marin Headlands on the way.  Oh. My. Gosh.  What a spectacular view!!  We watched the boats in the harbor for about 30 minutes but I seriously could have sat there all day.  I love this city so much!  My iPhone got the job done, but I wish I had brought a camera.

        

Finally, a few pics of my room and the beautiful view!  I love staying at the Mandarin Oriental.  The service is impeccable and I love, love the complimentary jasmine tea and almond cookies!  A little more sugar and caffeine and I’m almost feeling human again.  Seriously, it was not pretty this morning.  Even my hair hurt.

        

        

        

Hope everyone had a lovely weekend!

xoxo,

Blondie, esq.

4 thoughts on “Wine Country

    • Blondie, Esq. says:

      Thanks!! I love them too but they are not the most comfortable… it’s tricky to find the right balance of tight enough to stay on without being tight enough to cut off circulation. 🙂

Polite comments are always welcome. Thank you!

