Power Outage

You probably heard about the blackout affecting most of Southern California, Arizona, and Baja Mexico yesterday.  It happened at 3:40 p.m. when it was about 90 degrees outside.  And, of course, this is what I was wearing:

Argyle Hooded Sweater / Tank – J.Crew

Shoes – Nine West (last seen here)

Flare Jeans – Gap

Earrings – t+j Designs 

Watch – Lacoste

You may recall that I dressed completely inappropriately for the weather on Tuesday, and so on Wednesday I wore summery clothes and froze my you-know-what off at work.  So yesterday morning, despite the fact that the weather predicted temps in the low 80s, I wore a sweater.  Which was perfect, up until 3:40 p.m.  For some reason, even though traffic was a nightmare and I live very close to work, I thought I should drive home.  My car was parked in a sunny spot in the garage at work and I have no a/c.  It took me 45 minutes to get two blocks before I pulled the car over and walked the rest of the way.  Oh, and my car stereo is broken.  Not a pretty picture.

I made it home around 5:15 and promptly jumped in the pool.  Ahhhh, thank goodness for Hotel California!  Husband had just gone to the grocery store to get beef short ribs and potatoes, which he made into a delicious braised party on the grill (and tortured our neighbors in the process).  We played gin, drank beer and wine, and ate by candlelight.  And the power came on at about 10:30, just when the need for a/c was becoming apparent.  It was kind of fun!  As long as I forget about the sweaty, crabby mess I was by the time I arrived home…

Oh and here’s the kicker – husband and I discovered that we have *no* emergency plan.  We don’t own a radio, much less a battery powered radio, and we have *a* flashlight that doesn’t work.  Luckily we did have candles, and now we have a list of “things to buy for the next crisis.”  So far the list includes radio, flashlight, and extra bottles of wine.  The important stuff.

BUT let’s not neglect the most important part of the outfit, these fabulous earrings from t+j Designs!  Sadly the pink ones are all sold out but there are lots of other cute colors that I’m pining after (check these!).  They are not heavy at all and I wore them comfortably all day (even through my trek home).  Tiffany and Jen are introducing another collection soon and I can’t wait!

Any of the rest of you lose power?  How did you cope?

xoxo,

Blondie, Esq.

4 thoughts on “Power Outage

  1. Josh Dukelow says:

    WOW! What a sordid ordeal… glad it was capped off with braised short ribs, wine, GIN, and annoying the neighbor. You wore a sweater when it was 90… that is questionable. But this blog is great. Miss you already! — Josh

Polite comments are always welcome. Thank you!

