Wishful Wellies and What the Heck am I Wearing

Good morning, friends!

A few quick things.  We had a fantastic time with our lovely out of town guest this weekend.  A little too many fantastic times.  With all the dining, drinking, and other fun things, I need another weekend to recover.  Luckily this is a four day work week (at least, theoretically).  I took a few snaps of outfits and other things from this weekend and will try to share them soon.  In the meantime, I am going through one of those dreaded “I hate everything in my closet and nothing is fitting right” phases.  I think this is partly due to the change of season (again, theoretically, see below) and partly due to all of the excess this weekend (bacon, I’m looking at you) and partly just one of those phases.  Very much hoping it ends soon.

Now, let’s talk about yesterday.  Here’s what I wore:

Dress / Cardigan – J.Crew

Scarf – Spun by Subtle Luxury (last seen here)

Boots – Kamik

Sunnies – Marc by Marc Jacobs

Watch – Lacoste

        

It was cold and rainy on Monday, so when I woke up early yesterday and it was already raining, I was beyond excited.  One of the things I miss the most about living in Wisconsin is the change of seasons – I love fall, layers, boots, etc.  But I do not love snow, which is why I am now in Southern California.  It rains very infrequently here so whenever it does, I jump at the chance to wear boots. Yesterday this plan was a complete failure.  By 9:00 the sun was shining and by 9:01 it was over 80 degrees, sunny, and unbelievably muggy.  Sigh.  I was actually quite comfortable because it’s always winter in my office, but I must admit I felt (and looked?) foolish with my boots all ready to go and no rain in sight.  Oh well.   I bought these boots last year after trying a million pairs (can’t get the Hunter wellies to work for me although I keep trying!).  They are ridiculously comfortable and affordable!  And cute, which makes up for the lack of a single cloud in the sky yesterday.  (Ahem.)

Which brings us to today.

        

Boot-cut Jeans / Camisole – Gap

Blouse – Old Navy

Bangles – J.Crew

Shoes – Enzo Angiolini 

Watch – Michael Kors

Earrings – American Eagle

Not loving my outfit today, but it was already 85 when I woke up!  This is a tricky time of year to be interested in fashion and living in Southern California, because September is usually the warmest month of the year (and certainly is the warmest weather we’ve had all year) but I am surrounded by fabulous fall clothing that I won’t be able to wear for weeks!  I gave in today and went with this summery blouse and jeans, and my go to sandals (worn often!).  I thought about skipping the pictures, but since I am using my blog as my closet tracker as well, and to keep myself humble, here they are.

So there you have it.  Many words from me on a (wordless?) Wednesday!

xoxo,

Blondie, Esq.

13 thoughts on “Wishful Wellies and What the Heck am I Wearing

  1. LOALoveCoach says:

    I also miss Wisconsin Autumns! I miss the cool crisp mornings and yes, even the crazy 20 degree drops in temperature or snow in October.

    It is odd that Southern California summer weather hits in September…especially this year. Hot! Hot! Hot!

    Have a fashion forward day!

    Love,
    Cat

  2. Sammie says:

    Hi! Its been unusually warm for the Seattle area as well! I have been dying to wear sweaters and tights.

    You look cute and I think I have the same mbmj sunnies!

    ps. The weather in Southern California was one of the many reasons I moved Seattle–I love me some rain!

  3. Kristen says:

    I would try to feel sorry for you, but it has been raining in Boston since Monday. Cold, awful, get-ready-for-snow-all-the-time-int-the-winter-summer-is-over-you-poor-fools rain. UGH. I need wellies like yours to get through this! Cute outfits!

    • Blondie, Esq. says:

      The grass is always greener, isn’t it? I miss fall but with fall comes winter… and no more snow for this cali-girl! I highly recommend Kamik boots, affordable, cute, and really comfortable. I want a pair of red ones next!

Polite comments are always welcome. Thank you!

